Air Marshal Sir Julian Young, who retired recently from the Royal Air Force after 40 years of service as an Engineer Officer, became today the 140th President of the IET (1 October 2021).

With an increased government focus on vocational training and technical skills such as the introduction to T-Levels, Sir Julian will lead the IET over the next year to increase the visibility and importance of technicians - both within the IET’s membership and more widely to enhance the overall status of engineers.

Sir Julian will also continue to build on the success immediate past-president Professor Danielle George MBE achieved during the IET’s 150th anniversary. He wants to encourage and inspire the next generation of talent by demonstrating the positive societal role engineers and technologists play as well as shine a spotlight on the emergence of rapidly developing sectors such as cyber, AI and ‘green jobs’ - those that support sustainability and climate change.

Sir Julian said: “The engineering and technology industry supports and advances the world we live in, but more importantly it enables opportunity. It is our role as a professional membership body to support engineers and technologists throughout their professional career - enhancing the professionalism and competency of the industry by demonstrating engineering excellence.

“There are still around 3 million engineers within the UK that do not belong to a professional membership body, with some 4 in 10 of these being technicians. This year I will be driving forward our offer to technicians and championing their role to help enhance their status and formulate a pipeline for which young people can see positive and sustainable career options ahead of them. This will support the Government’s ongoing work to raise the status of technical-level qualifications and boosting the skills needed within the industry.”

In his inaugural President’s Address, which takes place online on Thursday 14 October 2021, Sir Julian will explore the themes of professionalism and the importance of membership, the role of engineering to society and making a positive impact, embedding digitalisation and ensuring we are futureproofing the industry for the next generation.

The IET President’s Address, ‘Eat, Sleep, Engineer, Repeat – How you can play your part in evolving our engineering landscape for all’, will take place live online on Thursday 14 October at 1pm BST / 2pm CET / 8pm CST / 8am EDT / 5am PDT. Find out more here: https://presidentsaddress.theiet.org/.